With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that untouched lands must be investigated because of increasing necessity for energy sources worldwide. This essay totally disagrees with this statement. I believe thet exploring new areas in order to gain an access to oil and gas can have detrimental impacts to the environment and cause more dependency on fossil fuels. Exploring new areas for the fossil-gaining purpose can worsen significantly the biodiversity of the Earth. Aspiring to acquire temporary energy sources, a vast landscaped must be destroyed, chopping down the hectars of woods and releasing hazardous gas emissions into the atmosphere. Furthermore, it may cause other catastrophical issues such as Global warming, by depriving remaining trees on the Earth and increasing air pollution. For example, provided statistics by Nazarbayev University exploiting lands excessively between 1970 and 1996, Kazakhstan's climate worsened to 35% by degrading air quality and causing the extinction of local species of fauna and flora. Having exploited gained fossil fuels from undeveloped areas, citizens can grow their dependency by trying to accomplish the urgent necessities. Not only does the exploration of new lands make people eager to consume increasingly year by year, but it also may lead to the neglective approach to the environment. Instead of inventing and implementing eco-friendly sustainable energy, humans generally rush to find a temporary salvation. For instance, a study conducted by the World Nature Conservancy proves that opening of new gas and oil fields is gaining a tendency, with an increasing figure at about 9% each year, annd causing the neglection to the invention of alternative energy sources. In conclusion, though a demand for the traditional energy resources is growing, it mustn't be the reason to exploit undeveloped areas, as this can become a root of disaster to the nature and reliance of humanity only on oil and gas.