Movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that TV programs and films are effective in acquiring reliable knowledge concerning history in spite of their historical inaccuracy at times. This essay agrees completely with this statement because these pieces of art describe main events in addition to the fact that they are accessible to a wide public. It is conspicuous that movies and TV shows report the main events about numerous historical facts. Even if dates are not as accurate as in specialized books, these programs show real past events that involve true characters. Indeed, they aim to showcase historical occurrences in order to make the public knowledgeable in history, by providing an overview of major events. Hence, giving the exact time of every episode is not mandatory. For example, Ridley Scott, who is a famous historical movie producer, never specifies exact dates in his films. He considers that narrating real facts is the prime aim of his work. It is also crystal clear that TV shows are reachable by a wide range of people. On the contrary, historical books are often read by a small part of the population. In fact, many citizens are not experts in history, furthermore, they simply don't like to read. In this regard, the Television is watched by a large portion of the population, therefore, they have access to these historical programs and movies that are able to instruct them about historical facts. For instance, many people in Morocco, didn't know who Napoleon Bonaparte, a famous French leader, was. This is because those citizens are Africans and are not concerned with French history. However, thanks to Ridley Scott's movie "Bonaparte", which describes his life, everyone became aware of the importance of this iconic figure. In conclusion, films and TV shows are first-rate ways to study history because they highlight major events as well as major historical characters. Moreover, they are accessible to a large portion of the population.