Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that different schools adopt various styles in evaluating their students. According to that, there is a belief that homework should not be given to pupils, while others find it essential. This essay will discuss these perspectives and then provide my view. To begin with, homework is important to students as it helps them develop many skills, such as problem-solving skills and critical thinking skills. In other words, these skills can prepare those children for university, and aid them to solve complex tasks. Moreover, life’s obstacles might be faced by individuals, therefore, these capabilities learned by pupils through solving different problems in homework can help them overcome them. For example, Oxford University conducted a study on school children, the study found that students who were giving homework that required various skills to solve were more able to solve different life problems. On the other hand, some people argue that homework should not be assigned to students because maybe that puts a burden on them, as some students may have part-time jobs. It is also possible to say that students have many tasks to do in school and in their lives, such as school activities and classes, and their work in store or café. Additionally, some parents might find it will lead their children to suffer from psychological issues, such as anxiety and overthinking skills. For instance, a BBC documentary in the UK revealed that the school pressure on students had a detrimental impact on them. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. However, I believe that students should be given different types of assignments to improve their skills, and parents and teachers have to help them find balance in their lives.