Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a popular belief that reading books is better than watching movies and television, as it requires an active brain activity where people must engage and use their imagination. I believe that reading keeps the readers more invested based on two main reasons. Firstly, reading books requires individuals to think whether the content of the books is in line with the readers’ knowledge. This activity could train people's minds to have a better focus as they need to read and understand the reading word by word to understand the writing. For example, while reading a scientific-themed book about a plant, the reader would compare the information given to the common knowledge. The involvement of critical thinking in this activity allows people to do a fact check before internalizing the information. Secondly, another positive aspect is that reading books gives people opportunities to use their imaginations. Imagining a certain image in mind requires a certain length of brain activities. This is why, reading activities have always been recommended by the medical field as a prevention of memory loss or lack of focus. For example, reading a criminal case allows the readers to imagine all the details of the crime scene and create a scene in their minds of all the possibilities on how the actions took place. Therefore, in most cases, the reading enthusiasts of a certain author often express their disappointment once the book was made into a movie because it could not meet their expectations. In summary, reading books is an activity that requires an intense brain engagement that requires focus and imagination. Thus, I agree that reading books requires more active brain activity than watching movies by having critical thinking and imagination while reading.