Some students take a year off between finishing school and starting university to travel or work. Do the advantages of taking a gap year outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that numerous high school graduates took a year gap after their graduation. While it is held belief that they prefer to travel or work during that year. This essay will discuss both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, this phenomenon would be beneficial for graduates in various ways. To elaborate, utilizing this gap in learning new skills and expanding the individual's experiences in the real world will assist them to decide what is their true passion in life, which will be essential to choose their major before starting university. For example, if an individual took a year off after high school and started working as an assistant in a law firm, this role could be the perfect chance to observe the legal profession up close and determine whether the law was truly his/her dream major, by working with lawyers and being involved in various aspects of the legal field. On the other hand, the concept of the year gap would not be as fruitful as expected if it was not planned properly. In other words, if the individual avoids planning for his/her future during that gap, it could damage their entire life, and that can be seen in several studies that concluded a significant number of pupils who took that year without previous planning did not succeed in their career life unfortunately. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance; however, I tend to believe that taking this year as a relief and constructing solid plans at the same time would enhance the student's future as detailed in the law firm assistant example.