Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people suggest the tuition fee for university study should be bared by individuals, since they are expected to have a higher income as a reward, I tend to agree with those who have opposite opinions, since free education for advanced studies could not only minimize the difference between rich people and those in poverty but enhance the competitiveness of a society as a whole. On the one hand, the opponents of free education at all levels argue that students who have bachelor's degrees are more likely to have better careers and higher salaries, which could pay back their tuition fee for university eventually, hence, it is unnecessary for administrations to cover the costs as such. For example, according to the statistics conducted by the government in Taiwan, the average wage of university graduates is higher than others and they are favoured by the majority of commercial institutions, therefore, people consider having higher education as a personal choice for better careers and should not be founded by authorities. On the other hand, in my perspective, free university education could prompt advantages in various aspects. First of all, students from poor families are able to reverse their current situation by breaking the cycle of poverty with higher academic achievements, which could be the solution to M-shaped societies. On top of that, it is the obligation of governments to cultivate competent people to stimulate the development in various professional fields, including medicine and science. It helps countries to cope with existing problems and be more competitive in the world. For instance, some developed countries are willing to offer financial subsidies to students to focus on their studies, which helps them to attract gifted individuals around the world. To summarise, the discussion regarding if governments should provide free advanced education has been ongoing for quite a while, some are against such ideas for the privilege those graduates could have that makes it the behaviour of personal investment, however, I believe that governments have the obligation to cover the costs of university education due to the incremental population of degree holders could benefit not only individuals but societies.