Providing children with a phone from an early stage is a great way to teach them how technology works and can be helpful in the long run. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many parents nowadays buy smartphones for their children in order to develop their skills, which can also benefit them in the long term. Personally, I wholeheartedly disagree with this opinion and I will state some reasons for my view. The first compelling factor for holding to my view is that young children often are exposed to content that is unsuitable for their age. Since children are unable to recognise what is right or wrong, they can be easily influenced by what they see online. For instance, some platforms such as YouTube and TikTok publish inappropriate content including criminal activities and sexual videos which affect children's emotions and behaviours. In extreme cases, they may commit harmful acts or abuse other children. Parents can tackle this problem by monitoring their youngsters while they are online. Using some internet supervision apps seems to be as a potential solution, which leads parents to track their children by blocking some inappropriate websites and setting screen time limits. With this action, children can benefit only from the positive aspects of technology. One of the other dangers is that children may lose their interest in education. When using their smartphones for hours, they may reduce their desire to do schoolwork. Research has shown that those children who have phones are unable to as perform well as those who do not have them and face many mental health issues such as anxiety. Consequently, without proper performance at school, they may face many challenges when they grow up in terms of employment. In conclusion, I totally believe that purchasing a phone at an early age is impractical. However, using technology has some positive prospects, they may decline the motivation of children in academics and lead them to engage in some