Some people say that history offers no practical benefit to society while others claim that history teaches us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion .

Whilst some people argue that history can not provide any actual advantage, others and I firmly believe that it is beneficial for the community to make decisions depending on historical information. This essay will examine both views in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, with the essential development of new technologies and effective education systems, there is no need to be guided by history anymore. In other words, humanity is able to deal with almost any modern issue based on its own experience, while many historical situations have become archaic in recent decades. For instance, military tactics and regulations changed dramatically in the 20th century so it is impossible to receive any benefit from looking at the methods of leading battles in the past. However, the individuals still illustrate the scientific and historical works, methods, research, patterns, etc. in many educational places due to their potential advantage in the future. Additionally, there are lots of different situations when the old experience could be helpful. To illustrate, COVID-19 showed that humans are using historical patterns of dealing with epidemics(isolation periods, vaccination, etc.) compared to the situation with the Spanish Flu when the population decided to ignore the previous experience with pandemics. Hence, the Spanish Flu killed over a hundred million people, while COVID-19 caused less than ten million deaths. To conclude, at present, with the significant advancement of the world, many historical solutions cannot be exploited to solve modern problems. Nevertheless, it is better to know the history to be ready rather than looking for a needed article when it is necessary at the moment.