In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before, Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments.Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages ?

In many countries, people are now reaching higher ages that they haven`t reached before. Some people think it negatively affects the governments. Others believe that they are a good value for the society. This essay will discuss both views and mention why I think having an ageing population outweighs the disadvantages. On the one hand, people who claim that the elderly are a burden on the government think that they will need a lot of care when they get older, moreover, they will need 24/7 hours access to NHS healthcare facilities which is costly for the government. For example, research has shown that the majority of healthcare services during covid-19 were used by old citizens. On the other hand, people who disagree with this notion say that the old members of the community offer crucial support emotionally and mentally to the younger generation. In addition,  they give them important pieces of advice and help when they need to go through a social experience like becoming parents for the first time or getting divorced. So they can pass on this experience with less pain and suffering. In conclusion, some individuals think that old people are just an overload to the governments because they consume a huge part of the NHS services with no actual return back from them. I strongly believe together with the other groups who are supporting the ageing population. that those groups are essential people in our lives. because they can provide great guidance for their children and grandchildren when they need it.