Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether or not countries should develop their living standard by economic development is now a debate. The writer, however, advocates that the benefits of enhancing educational background along with reducing the unemployment rate totally outweigh the cost of widening the rich gap. It must be acknowledged that the improvements in the economy can act as an incentive for education. That is to say, a nation with a solid financial background will allocate to various aspects of citizen’s lives, and their main focus is on education as education is the main way to gain fundamental knowledge required for further demands in the workspace. Therefore, without education, countries can not develop their specific aims in the economy, leading to a cease in the financial output. As a consequence, nations will distribute more in educational status, meaning that more people are able to get access to study. Another point that should be taken into consideration is to reduce the rate of unemployment. To be more specific, economic enhancement parallels job prospects as citizens will have more money to find their own business, which needs employees to maintain and improve. This leads to a phenomenon that jobless individuals can seek a suitable occupation, thus, they will have money to manage their own lives along with their family. Take Japan as an example where numerous people can get rid of joblessness owing to small companies established by dwellers. Some skeptics, nevertheless, contend that the rich gap between people will become noticeable. This belief is based on the fact that the rich will always be rich in the financial market because of their solid position in the financial market while the unprivileged ones are unable to maintain a decent revenue as the unpredictable changes in daily lives such as pandemics or bankrupt that they cannot manage due to the lack of financial background. This point may be credible, but authorities nowadays have a policy to subsidize people with basic needs such as accommodations, travel, and finances so that people can fully focus on earning money, leading to an increase in overall rise in the economy of one city. To conclude, the benefits of getting access to education and increasing job opportunities outweigh the drawbacks of the rich gap becoming bigger. Hence, this essay should have shown that it is more beneficial to improve economic status.