Many people who care for the elderly do not have enugh time to look after them. What are the problems related to this? What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of neglected elders by their caregivers who struggle to manage their time, this is mainly driven by caregivers' busy work schedules and the lack of aid from their local community. In this essay, I will elaborate on these two causes and propose a few solutions to overcome this issue. One major reason why people struggle to take care of their parents or grandparents is having long working hours and a demanding job. For instance, most office jobs have fixed schedules of 8-10 hours per day which makes it difficult for a person who has a full-time job to be fully available to care for a loved one. Furthermore, people nowadays are less connected with their extended family or neighbours who used to offer a hand in caring for children and older members of the family. This act of unity and assistance has almost disappeared from our modern lives and the burden is usually carried on the shoulders of one family member. However, labour offices and leaders in local communities can support people who care for their elders by implementing a few incentives such as offering flexible working hours or community service acts. An example, a worker who supports a family member can work remotely a few days a week or get a half day off so they can address their loved one's needs. Moreover, establishments such as schools and community centres can encourage their members to volunteer to take care of older people in the neighbourhood. By implementing these actions, older people receive better support from the members of their society. In conclusion, some people struggle to have enough time to support the elders in their family due to busy working schedules or insufficient help from other individuals in their social network. However, by offering to help hands or more flexible working hours, caregivers will be able to fulfil their duties toward their families.