in some countries and increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food

There has been a rise in the amount of individuals who face health issues due to consuming an excess of fast food. This has led to a debate regarding the action of whether or not it is essential for governments to utilise a higher tax on this kind of nutrition. Although many scholars disagree with this statement, I, on the other hand, strongly agree. Firstly, fast foods contain a high degree of complexity in terms of the components involved in their contents which makes them unhealthy for consumers. For example, fast food chains add a certain amount of artificial flavouring so their products become more addictive. Additionally, the effects of these chemicals are largely unknown, making them highly dangerous for everyone who eats the products. Therefore, it is important for governments to take action in order to discourage consumers from buying such goods. As this government intervention is successfully carried out, the population will naturally be disincentive to invest in fast foods due to a leap in price leading to a healthier population over time. Moreover, convenience items contain an unhealthy amount of calories as they are high in sugar and saturated fat, which significantly contributes to an individual’s weight gain. Collectively, as more individuals buy prepacked snacks each year an array of negative costs is inevitably imminent. For instance, there may be a substantial soar in those diagnosed with diseases that are linked to a surplus in body mass such as obesity. By implementing higher taxes on a demerit good such as convenience cuisine, the government will help reduce the number of people fighting against these health problems. Additionally, this fiscal policy will help the government obtain more tax revenue which they can apply for other spending, such as healthcare and education, that benefit their citizens. In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments should release higher taxes on unhealthy meals as the benefits massively outweigh the drawbacks. Not only will this policy help the population adopt healthier diets, but the life expectancy of the government’s nation will surge enormously.