Some people think individuals are more and more dependent on each other. Some people think individuals are more and more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ on whether individuals are more independent or not. Some argue that people become deeply connected with each other because of advancement of technology and global trading, leading to increased dependence. However, others emphasize the tendency toward independence due to the awareness of self-reliance. Both views are discussed here and I favour the previous one. It is worth noting that some individuals now choose to live alone instead of residing with families or sharing apartments with friends. This group of people avoid social interactions as well. A typical example can be found in Japan is that a growing number of young generations are opting to stay at home alone after work, supporting life by their own salary and entertaining themselves by watching movies or playing video games. However, when compared with the majority, this is a small portion, and we cannot consider this part as representative of the whole. Conversely, the boom of technology and global trading are drives for people to rely more on each other. Unlike the traditional lifestyle where people were limited to communicating face-to-face, we now have more ways to achieve this, such as through video and instant messaging, which increases the frequency of interaction. Additionally, many multinational companies require staff to cooperate across different departments to deal with business. For example, staff in McDonald's marketing department collect customer preferences from different countries, and the research department develops new products based on these data for promoting new cuisine. This process requires a lot of cooperation and communication among employees. Besides, the prevalence of social media strengthens people ’s bond with each other, such as instagram and Facebook. In conclusion, while some people choose to be solitary, this lifestyle is not mainstream. Therefore, I argue that living independently is justified given modern technology and trade practices.