Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought that living in a foreign country has many problems such as social and practical difficulties. This essay completely agrees with this statement because living in a foreign country may lead to social isolation for many and challenges at work or study. Living in a foreign country may lead to social isolation, especially for individuals who have difficulties in learning languages. Language barriers can make it difficult to communicate with people or even understand other people which prevents many from engaging in society or making friendships with anyone. For instance, learning a language requires time, when a person is living in a foreign country, it is going to be difficult for them to communicate with people and they may face challenges in their learning journey, which makes them shy and hesitate to build friendships with anyone. Moreover, living in a city where everyone speaks a foreign language can cause problems for employees or students who are not native speakers. Many jobs require fluency in the local language and without strong language skills many individuals may face difficulties to improve their professional lives. For example, language skills are crucial for employees in order to get promotions or benefits; however, a lack of these skills will cause difficulties for many to improve in their career lives. In conclusion, living in a foreign country may be challenging for many people and can cause serious social and practical problems, particularly for learners because the learning journey needs time and effort which makes it difficult for many to socialize due to their weakness in speaking language, along with difficulties to improve employees’ professional lives because some jobs require fluency in language skill.