As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is argued by some that newspapers are outmoded because the internet is becoming much more famous. This essay completely agrees with this statement as the internet contains free electronic newspapers and it is widely adopted by youngsters. The internet is clearly a revolutionary breakthrough since it features a wide range of pieces of information, including numerous free and illimited newspapers. In fact, it is filled with the same paper-based newspapers, in an electronic format, that is usually for free. The public has fast access to several websites and applications that showcase the most recent pieces of news. In this regard, people tend to read them on their screens, rather than buying physical newspapers. Hence, several famous newspapers adopted the electronic format to ensure their sustainability. For example, "The Guardian", a famous English newspaper,set up an electronic format, which is more consumed than the paper-based one. It is also conspicuous that the internet is mainly used by youngsters, who are the present and the future of our modern society. Indeed the word "youngsters" refers to people who were born since the 1980s and who represent the majority of the population, thus, a consequential portion of consumers. These people are ineluctably used to reading news on their computers or their smartphones, rather than buying physical newspapers, which on the contrary, are consumed by old citizens, who tend to pass out. Therefore, paper-based newspapers are slowly vanishing, whilst electronic ones are increasingly adopted.In Casablanca, Morocco, for instance, it is crystal clear that newspapers are progressively disappearing from bookstores, as no one buys them anymore. In conclusion, newspapers are certainly becoming a thing of the past, as the internet is more effective to showcase the latest pieces of news in addition to the fact that it is broadly used by young people, who are major consumers in our society.