More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve this problem?

Over the last few years, there has been an increase in the number of wild animals facing extinction and on the endangered list. While some human activities, including poaching and deforestation, are to blame for this loss, some steps can be taken by governments to deal with this problem. Regarding the reasons why increasingly more wild beasts are being wiped out, the first one seems to be poaching. Despite the presence of certain laws against hunting some rare animals, this illegal activity has been performed continuously, posing a risk for some species to die out. In fact, so-called White Wolf species, mainly found in Asia, were hunted in significantly high numbers in 2020, and have now been added to the list of protection-need animals, which shows an unintended consequence of illegal hunting. Another factor is clearing forest lands where some wild animals find shelter. In order to meet increasing demand for the provision of accommodation and logging industries, a considerable number of hectares of forests have been flattened, not taking rare species and their possible disappearance into account. Having said that, there is still a chance to curb this ongoing loss of wild animals. For one thing, those who hunt animals in an illegal way should be punished severely with exorbitant fines, with the repetitive offenders being sentenced even to imprisonment. This would act as a deterrent against poachers and make them think twice before committing this act. For another thing, the government can step in preserving natural habitats of rare animals. In other words, some parts of forests where such species live can be turned into natural reserves to create an environment for wild animals to reproduce and breed, without the danger of being hunted and losing their habitat. To sum up, the loss of particular wild species can be attributable to two key reasons. However, only when strict punishments for poachers and additional care for natural habitats are present, would this issue be solved.