Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Others think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advertisements are very common on newspapers, TVs, social media and online streaming platforms nowadays. It is claimed by a particular group of people that they play a crucial role to influence us to purchase things, but others believe that we ignore them because they are repetitive. This essay will cover each side of the argument in turn. I firmly agree that we are influenced by the advertisements and make decisions to buy things. Advertising on social media is the most effective method for companies who want to attract consumers. This is mainly because they usually track our search history and only showcase similar products and services. By this psycological influencing, it is very hard for a customer to resist the advertisement and usually purchases the product. For instance, after browsing for flight tickets on Google, different applications like Facebook and Instagram will automatically show advertisements about cheap flights or existing deals. I totally agree that because of the techniques used by minds whose ultimate goal is to attract customers, such as in sales departments, people will continue giving attention to the advertisements and purchase new things. On the contrary, many people still argue that we do not give more attention to advertisements. This would be because they believe it is a waste of time to watch them. If someone is watching a YouTube video, they would be less interested in watching the ad and skip it to continue to watch their show or episode. Some people also subscribe to applications like YouTube premium, so they do not need to see the advertisements. Additionally, if someone needs to buy a particular product, they would possibly not rely on the advertisements and buy it, no matter what. Therefore, it depends on different perspectives and behaviour of everyone on whether they would be influenced by advertisements. In conclusion, although many people argue that advertisements do not play an important role in people's lives when it comes to making decisions to buy something, I do not agree with this statement because advertisements are generally showcased after tracking our feed and history, and it is not easy to control not to purchase.