Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, the community tend to shop from their local stores, since they want to financially support the local economy and they firmly believe that local products have higher quality and freshness. It is a highly positive direction, because local economic growth is the backbone of the development of the national economy. On the one hand, local trading is one of the major contexts of economic development. People who have this awareness, are usually shop from their local markets. The local economy raises the society's overall wealth and welfare. A clear example of this can be seen in China, the government strongly supports local trading by lowering taxes. This attitude influenced their GDP by doubling in the last 10 years. This example clearly indicates the importance of domestic commerce which is a highly positive trend. On the other hand, the public believes that local products are more fresh than imported ones. Furthermore, they have better quality since the imported goods have travelled long distances so they could be damaged somehow. Domestic bazaars in Turkey sell the most fresh foods in the entire country since they bring the food directly from the farm. Simultaneously, in chain markets, all of the products are stored in freezers. Therefore, society tends to buy foods from these bazaars rather than chain market stores so they eat healthy foods which is a good trend. All in all, local products have a wide range of benefits, such as assistance to the local economy and the provision of fresh and high-quality goods. It shows a profoundly positive tendency.