More and more plastic waste has polluted cities, countrysides and oceans. What problems does it cause and what measures should be taken?

In this contemporary society, the issue of plastic waste is becoming quite common and hazardous. This rubbish is polluting rural areas, big cities as well as the water bodies to a large extent. This essay will discuss the causes and potential solutions to it in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, the ecosystem is also getting disturbed as the creatures residing inside the water bodies are ingesting the plastic particles along with their food. As a result, these creatures will definitely become endangered or extinct species one day which could be hazardous for survival, because the whole food chain cycle will get disrupted. Moving further, humans are the ones who are at greater risk of health issues such as cancer or lung disease due to the accumulation of this plastic refuse. To cite an example, a recent survey conducted in a rural area in Punjab recently, revealed that about 80% of people are suffering from lung infections due to the rise in plastic trash. However, there are several solutions to tackle this ongoing menace. Most importantly, awareness campaigns should be organised in which the individuals could be taught about the hazards of using plastic which would warn them against its usage. Aside from that, the government could make some strict laws to ban the use of plastic. To illustrate, businesses should be asked to use paper bags instead of plastic ones and fines must be imposed upon those not following this policy. To conclude, plastic is a dangerous thing that can cause harm to humans in terms of health issues as well as to animals; it will even create a nuisance in the ecosystem. By putting efforts, in terms of law-making and creating awareness, this problem can be controlled to a great extent.