These days, many children are overweight. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

At present, a considerable number of children are overweight. This is mainly because of an unhealthy diet and a lack of exercise. However, there are several solutions that can be taken to tackle this problem. Firstly, many children eat unhealthy food. In other words, they usually eat fast food and junk food, which are high in calories, sugar, and fat, and because of this, they gain weight easily. For example, in the USA, children often eat burgers for lunch and dinner because their parents can buy or prepare them easily. As a result, they gain weight quickly. Secondly, a huge number of children do not exercise. That is to say, they always play video games and watch videos on the phone. Therefore, they are not active, and they cannot burn their calories. There are two effective solutions to overcome this problem. One of the measures is that parents have to start preparing healthy meals for their children. To put it simply, they should stop their children from eating fast food and junk food and prepare meals that are high in protein and nutrients. This will help children maintain a healthy weight. Another method is that schools should encourage students to do extracurricular activities after school. For instance, they can include sports, such as football or basketball games, which will help students stay active. Thus, this will help them burn their calories easily and stay healthy. To sum up, eating unhealthy food and not doing exercise are the main causes of this problem. If parents and schools implemented these solutions, these issues would soon drop.