In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Benefited by the advancement of global transportation, students nowadays are able to travel to different places around the globe to study a tertiary course. This has thus become a heated topic, particularly around its pros and cons. From my perspective, it has some great merits which are worthwhile to be discussed and advocated to students intending to acquire their learnings in a foreign country. Firstly, studying a higher education program in a new city provides young individuals with great opportunities to enrich their academic learning. It enables them to perceive things from different cultural viewpoints. This is beneficial as young individuals are able to gain a deeper understanding of their learning subjects, thereby ultimately enhancing their learning. Secondly, this means also equips our students with great human resources and industrial connections that local universities cannot offer. For example, students can build friendships and connections with international students from all around the world. Such bondings can become a great asset when they are seeking jobs in the global job market. However, this is not to say that the local colleges do not have any strength. They provide students with more affordable learning options compared to the international alternatives. Most students from a normal family background are able to obtain a certificate. In other words, they do not need to worry about living expenses like flight tickets and renting apartments, and more importantly, the challenges that arise in an unfamiliar environment. In summary, studying in a university abroad opens a door to more learning and working opportunities for our emerging students. Yet, its expensive fees make it not applicable to all students and families. Accordingly, it shall be up to our students to decide whether it is an advantageous learning pathway or not.