In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centre or malls to do their shopping Is this a positive or a negative development?

Customers prefer to do their shopping from malls or large shopping outlets due to which the majority of small local stores have closed in recent years. According to my point of view this a negative trend as it effect the budget of middle class people and it increases the unemployment rate. To commence with, it effect the budget of many low earners. Every individual cannot be able to afford do their shopping from large shopping complexes because they have low income. As, every item in big stores have more prices as compared to small shops, so that their budget do not allow them. For example, a survey was conducted by New York Times in 2018 after the establishment of shopping outlets 67% low earning people do their shopping only twice a year that they did 4 times in a year from local stores. Another factor is increasing umemplyement. Local businesses have been demolished after the establishment of large shopping centres. Women are more effected with this trend as they have more access to run their businesses from home but after this development they have to shut down their business. For instance, a report was published by Hindustan Times in 2019 says that 55% females lost their jobs because they did not have enough customers after building the big shopping stores. To conclude, I believe that development of large shopping centres is a negative development as it increases the unemployment rate and effect the budget of middle class households.