In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Im I'm today’s professional sports, it is increasingly common among athletes to use prohibited substances to enhance their performance. I believe this problem can be inferred from the competitive environment in sports and the holes in testing system, though this can be solved by improving the system while also increasing penalties. Competitiveness in sports makes it extremely difficult to reach the top. Since there are countless of ambitious athletes competing with each other for that spot, people often abuse drugs and substances like steriods to trigger their high-alert mechanism, as well as increasing their strengths overall. This allows them to dominate the competition and win against stronger opponents. Another reason is due to the ineffective of testing procedures. Bodybuilders, for instance, demonstrates it very clearly as most of the athletes have an incredibly unnatural body. Yet, the tests found no evidence matching the use of tren or steriods. And with how easy it is to avoid the positive result, more and more people start taking those substances. However, this can be viably solved by improving and investing in testing equipments. Not only does it stop people intending to use those substances, but also able to expose the current well-known faces in the field. Another way is to apply stricter penalties. With this method, it makes athletes afraid of ruining their reputations and careers, which will create hesistation in those wanting to use these banned substances. In conclusion, competitiveness in sports motivates athletes to take banned substances and also from the deterioration in testing procedures. Therefore, investing in improving equipments and stricter penalties allow less cheating.