Some toddlers are using mobile phones for hours each day. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no denying the fact that a growing number of children under the age of three are using smartphones excessively daily. This phenomenon occurs because its convenience for parents to keep their kids occupied. From my perspective, I believe this has positive consequences on children ’s well-being because it has educational applications.@ To begin with, there are many reasons for why youngsters use mobile devices several hours every day. First and foremost, mobile phones provide a convenient way for parents to keep their children occupied. In other words, children under age three need someone or something to engage with and the full attention of their parents, while their parents have a busy lifestyle. Moreover, the nature of our modern life of having less physical activities and more techniqul devices is encourging the parents to entertain their children by using the smart phones. For example, if parents need to cook dinner for their family, they distract their child by allowing him play video games or watch YouTube. In terms of the effects of the excessive screen usage on toddlers’ development, the increased screen time could lead to bad consequences, such as sedentary lifestyle. However, it cab be used as an educational tool and results in positive consequences on children ’s well-being. It is also possible to say that toddlers can get basic digital literacy by using smart phones. Moreover, children can foster their cognitive and critical thinking skills. For instance, a three-year-old child can enhance his problem solving skilles through playing shapes or colours matching games. In conclusion, there are many reasons behind the increased screen time among toddlers these days including the busy schedules of their parents. It is also true that these smart phones could have huge benefits for children ’s well-being as long as they are used appropriately.