Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Undeniably, living outside the home country brings varied implications to every immigrant. I believe that regardless of the host country, living and communicating in a foreign language presents social issues in different communities along with practical difficulties in professional life. First and foremost, talking in a language other than your mother tongue makes it challenging to express feelings and the deep meaning of your words. Hence, this may lead to social isolation, difficulty in maintaining friendships and most importantly emotional relationships. For instance, a study conducted on 100 single Asian men and women in France that 75% of them remained unmarried until the age of 40 due to language barriers, whereas this rate is significantly lower in their homelands. In addition to the social issues of immigrants brought by local tongues, professional impediments and educational obstacles are other endeavours they come across. Besides the existing job shortage, many employers require language proficiency, especially for jobs interacting directly with people. For example, statistics show that newcomers in Germany, were obliged to careers other than their professions until they learned the German language, therefore, annually, more than thousands of non-native doctors are now driving Uber or working in restaurants for a living. In conclusion, local language proficiency in the country of residency is mandatory for work and socialization. otherwise, barriers to making new friendships and relationship bonds would make huge hassles. Limitation on job opportunities is another serious problem for those jobs demand interaction with citizens like doctors, which makes the sacrifice a lot while their lives are more difficult.