Some people think that current environment issues are global problems and should therefore be dealt with by the government, while others believe that these problems can only be tackled by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some people believe that governments should take responsibility for solving environmental issues as they are at the global scale, others argue that citizens are the only party that can deal with these situations. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I believe that environmental problems should be tackled by both the governments and their people. It is thought that the most impactful solution for environmental circumstances has to be driven by the governments because they have more power and money. To reduce the severity of the current situation, the governments can invest more in public infrastructures such as transportation and also impose public policies, leading to wider effects. For example, the Thai government has banned plastic bags in stores; hence, many retailers in Thailand are forced to ask for extra money if their customers want to get plastic bags after shopping. However, policies or regulations will not be effective unless individuals follow and are willing to change their behaviours. In contrast, people play a crucial role in protecting the environment, the compound effects of a small improvement from a number of citizens also better the situations globally. For instance, there was a car-free day in Europe arranged by a group of social enterprises, convincing people to travel by walk or bike instead of driving cars. As a result, air pollution was reduced effectively. Although, dealing with environmental issues can be done solely by either the governments or individuals, it is better to have a collaboration from both sides. In conclusion, some people think that environmental issues can be tackled only by governments as their impacts are wider with financial support and authority, while others argue that citizens are the only important players. I believe that the cooperation from both of them is superior.