Long distance flight consumes the amount of fuel that a car uses for many years and pollutes the air. Some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourist travel, rather than limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, the issue of travelling has sparked considerable debate. Some individuals assert that longer flights are consuming more energy resources and we should avoid unnecessary travel rather than minimising the usage of cars. I firmly disagree with this viewpoint, and this essay will discuss the adverse effects of reducing flights on the global economy and the timing issues to support my perspective. Firstly, a reduction in the number of air travel can have a detrimental impact on society. This is because aircraft not only serve as a means of transportation for people and goods but also enrich individuals with enthusiasm to explore the world, which ultimately leads to the growth of the economy. Moreover, more cars on the roads are generating more toxic gases, which are becoming the cause of air pollution. For instance, research showed that an aircraft is emitting less harmful gases compared to the modes of transportation for transferring between locations. Secondly, lessening air travel will also impose challenges for various sectors such as health, education, tourism, business and trade, which are using air travel in the case of emergencies, to reach their destinations more quickly. For instance, a good example of this scenario is the utilisation of air travel during the COVID pandemic, when people were transferred to the multispecialty hospitals, to save their lives. In addition to this, with the assistance of air travel, people are also able to attend multifarious vital meetings for the development of their business. In conclusion, air travel is posing problems to the surroundings, due to a negative impact on the global economy and timing issues. It is recommended that it is less harmful to the flora and fauna than the emission of cars.