“School plays a more important role than the family in shaping one’s personality.”

Some people argue that school plays a more dominant role than family concerning one child's personality development, whereas others claim the contrary. Whether it is the school that best promotes one child's self- development, or is it family that outdoes school in this contribution? Firstly, children's spending 8 hours per day at school means greater chances of interacting with peers and teachers. Furthermore, social interaction with peers at school provokes the development of social skills, namely such skills to co-operate and initiate conversations. Consequently, these skills encompass personal qualities which guide the growth of individual characteristics. Secondly, youngsters are exposed to a wealth of subjects that facilitate their multi-dimensional social understanding. For instance, science subjects support children intellectually, while social studies sustain their community engagement; hence, their personality development becomes increasingly elaborated and refined over time. Meanwhile, it is argued that school is not as predominant as a family regarding children's personality development. Virtually all children in normal circumstances develop strong emotional attachments to their caregivers as parents or siblings. As Mahatma Grandi quoted: " There is no school equal to a decent home, and no teacher equal to a virtuous parent." Additionally, the school study environment is somewhat competitive overburdened with examinations, in which children have to withstand considerable pressure; therefore, they have little time for personality development. In some cases, this may be detrimental to the children's mentality, foreshadowing later behavioural problems such as externalizing disorders. On balance, both school and family feature distinctively in shaping one's personality. While I firmly believe that school can foster children's personality development and their multi-dimensional whole self, a family can sustain children's secure attachment, and above all, guarantees them a sense of belonging.