Some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this?What can be done to solve the problem?

Some college students who just started their studies are not satisfied with their courses and believe that they do not suit them. This essay will explore why this is the case and propose several measures that can be taken to tackle this problem. One major cause of this phenomenon is a poor educational background. That is to say, many high-school students tend to prepare for general examinations such as GMAT or SAT, neglecting subjects that are connected to their future major. As a result, when they finally enter their colleges, they struggle to study their main courseworks as they lack specific preparation and basic knowledge necesary for studying. Another contributing factor is their courses that may seem to difficult to study compared to other majors. At colleges, they make new friends and learn about other specializations from them. In some cases, they begin to believe that they have chosen the wrong path that is hard to study and is not worth their efforts. To address this issue, colleges could incorporate preparatory courses to help students strengthen their foundational knowledge before starting their major coursework. These courses would provide narrowly specialized knowledge for students necessary in their further education and enable them to try other disciplines to find the most suitable one for them. Furthermore, the introduction of additional entry tests that would evaluate students ' knowledge in their target disciplines is another possible solution. Take Khalifa University in Abu Dhabi as an example. In addition to the general SAT, they often ask their students to take specialized subject tests to assess their knowledge in their future major. To conclude, there are several distinct reasons why some freshmen regret choosing their coursework. First, they focus more on how to get admitted to the college rather than on the process of education, lacking foundational knowledge in their coursework fields. Secondly, they start to think that their major is the hardest compared to others. Nevertheless, there are several solutions to this problem such as the incorporation of preparatory courses for freshmen and additional subject tests to evaluate their speicific knowledge.