Media coverage of violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Some people say it should be banned from newspapers and TV programmes. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that various media channels have introduced several violent crimes. While some individuals believe that media such as newspapers and TV programmes should not present these types of felonies, as they can frighten people and motivate some to conduct these crimes, others argue against that. In my opinion, the latter view is more realistic. To begin with, people have to know about these crimes to be more knowledgeable about them, taking their measurement against these violent practices. In other words, when people educate themselves and their children about these felonies through media they will be able to protect themselves and know more about the characteristics of those criminals. Furthermore, many TV shows have helped several individuals discover the signs that indicate a felony will be committed. For example, BBC has a documentary that emphasises crimes and how people can know criminals, which has protected many people ’s lives. Another point to consider is that present these types of violent practices encourage people to participate in material arts’ classes in order to defend themselves and their families when they face any type of felonies. This not only may help them to be more confident but also boost their mental health status, as they may suffer from anxiety when they see crimes in the media. Moreover, introducing crimes through media can help a community to work together in order to prevent these crimes. For example, in middle east countries, people support their country in order to catch the criminals and educate each other to be united. In conclusion, the media has helped people to protect themselves and their relatives, allows them to learn martial arts to save their lives, and makes society united. Therefore, I am against prohibiting media from presenting those crimes.