The roads in major cities today are often difficult to travel on. What are the causes of this situation ? What is the solution ?

The commute has been an important part of our daily lives this results in the need for better road infrastructure. While it is seen that nowadays travelling has become difficult in metropolitan cities. In this essay, I shall discuss the causes and solutions to this problem. To begin with, one of the major reasons for this is the increasing number of vehicles. Everyone owns a car and for their comfort, they prefer to travel by their own vehicle. For instance, it is often seen that a single person is using a 5-seater car which adds to the number of vehicles on the road resulting in traffic and roadblocks. Moreover, people avoid using public transportation because it has fixed spots and they find it difficult to reach their destination. Furthermore, the exits on major city roads are very distant and if a person misses his exit, the U-turn is many kilometres ahead. However, in case of need of any repair on these roads, diverting the traffic is one of the major concerns. Thus, sometimes improper diversion and indication cause chaos in public. On the contrary, to solve these problems proper road mapping should be done. In addition to this, adequate display of signages for speed limits, exits, pedestrian crossings etcetera should be taken into consideration. Also, the government should take some initiatives for the betterment of the public transportation system so that vehicle load on the major city roads could be decreased. To conclude, joint efforts of the public and the government can help to resolve the issue. Such as the government should make rules and the public should follow them.