Some argue that schools should prioritise life skills such as working in a team and problem-solving instead of traditional academics. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate over the topic of whether schools should prioritize soft skills such as working in a team and problem-solving abilities or if teaching default academics is a more optimal approach. While traditional academics have some benefits, I partially agree with this standpoint since soft skills are more valuable and can be applied in everyday routine as they foster communication with people and social interaction. On the one hand, traditional classes are fundamental for youth and for their development in the early stages of their lives, since core modules can give basic knowledge and understanding of the world. For example, children may learn about the culture of other countries and nations in various classes such as foreign languages or geography, or some even may find their future career path by practising school studies. Therefore, it might be vital for schools to teach traditional classes and focus on giving a basic understanding of the world. On the other hand, life skills not only give general information about certain subjects but also teach how to find out how to interact with peers and people as a whole. It will allow children to grow with confidence and without social boundaries. For instance, children can find out how to work in a team and develop their problem-solving abilities at school. Thus, it is crucial to prioritize life abilities and make them an essential part of education programs in schools. In conclusion, though core educational programs are important for a general understanding of the world, schools should focus on developing life skills such as teamwork and problem-solving in order to guarantee a confident society down the road.