In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Change is inevitable and is obvious in every field say, education, science, even in methods of performing our daily activities. It is seen that over the period of time, small businesses have been replaced by large businesses. In this essay, I will shed light on how this change has been advantageous to the community. To begin with the advantages of bigger shopping malls, the first and foremost advantage is they provide a variety of goods. An individual can get all the items under one roof from groceries to clothes. For instance, shopping stores have different sections for all the needs such as groceries, toiletries, stationary, kitchen appliances etcetera. Thus, one can get all the things needed from one store only and it saves the time of the buyer. Secondly, bigger stores allow better job opportunities. These stores are high maintenance and have so many employment options in different departments such as security, cleaning staff, billing staff, salespeople and many more. Hence, it helps in reducing the unemployment rate. Although, these marts also provide good offers and discounts on every purchase. To exemplify, there are end-of-season sales, offers like buy1 get 1 free and so on. On the contrary, shutting down of local shops has resulted in financial loss for many common people. In some cases, these outlets were the only source of bread. However, some people still prefer to purchase from these shops as city shopping centres are distant from their homes and they find it convenient to buy from local vendors. To conclude, this development has both positive and negative impacts. But to keep pace with fast-moving life, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of the development.