The internet provide us with information about life and culture of different countries and some people say it is not necessary to visit these countries to learn about them. To what extend do you agree and disagree with the statement? Give your opinion and relevant example.

Some people argue that they do not have to study about other countries through visiting them because there is an enormous amount of information about the life and culture of those countries published on the internet. I firmly disagree with this statement because the information provided is not the whole truth and in-person experiences are totally different. One of the reasons why I believe that consuming information from the internet is not enough is online platforms are places allowing everyone to share ideas, probably leading to misleading information. Governments and their citizens tend to post only good aspects of their countries in order to promote their nations and cultures, omitting their negative sides. Moreover, as the world has rapidly changed over time, that information might be outdated. For example, I used to believe that discipline was one of the key characteristics of Japanese people. Unfortunately, I figured out that this is not always true after I met a Japanese man who usually came to work late. Another reason is the information available on the websites might not reflect real experiences, especially cultures. Food is one of the good examples. Although photos taken can show its appearance and reviews written on the internet can explain its taste, experiencing real meals is completely different. Additionally, weather and environment also influence eating experiences. For instance, I could not imagine how salty Georgian food was until I tasted the local food when I visited Georgia. I also realized that local citizens love drinking warm wine because of the cold weather. In conclusion, some people believe that visiting other countries is no longer needed as the Internet plays an important role in offering information about different cultures and lives. I strongly disagree with this statement because the information provided might not be able to reflect all perspectives and it might not be up to date. Visiting real places also gives different experiences, food tasting in particular.