Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this approach outweigh its disadvantages?

Yes, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of providing technology companies with personal data in exchange for access to online software services, because people benefit from various online materials such as online financial management and communication via the internet, and the risk of leakage of important information is minimized by countermeasures. There are some risks of leaking information such as private and confidential information when you provide personal data to a certain company instead of using software materials; there are online hackers around everywhere and they always seeking ways to steal such important information through the personal accounts of individuals once they successfully gain personal names, call numbers, or email addresses they use that information to make a profit or fraud and telemarketing calls. For instance, there have been several cases of cyber terrorism toward bank accounts, and sometimes, people lose money because of falling into a rabbit hole of fraud or are annoyed by tenacious telemarketing calls afterwards. However, these problems can be fought back against by security reinforcement and caution notifications for customers. On the other hand, we benefit a lot from various kinds of online software content both in our lives and work styles; online financial management and communication via the Internet have made our daily lives much easier and made our working hours shorter than before. For example, we can manage bank accounts online, purchase almost anything online, and even work at home without commuting, which has created more leisure time for many people. Likewise, through various kinds of services, our lives and working environment have been dramatically improved to the extent we cannot do without them. In conclusion, the advantages of gaining easy access to many types of software far outweigh the disadvantages of information leakage such as fraud and telemarketing calls because these problems are manageable by reinforcement of cyber security and notification for customers.