Some people think if students are afraid of the teacher it is better. Others say that having a friendly relation is better. What do you think?

The debate about the instructor-learner relationship has been ongoing for many years now. It is considered by certain individuals that this bond, being quite noble should have a thick line, so that there is always a fear among children. However, others opine that a friendly relationship between the two should be encouraged. In my view, a balanced approach is the best solution due to the changing times and needs of the society. First and foremost, strict discipline enforced by a mentor towards the students would prevent the latter from speaking up in times of need. When a child enters a school, which is often considered a second home, he expects motherly treatment from his tutor. This expectation gets shattered when his teacher shouts and screams at him for minor misconduct. Thus, a child starts losing interest in not only the teacher but also avoids going to school, in extreme situations due to fear. To gain and instil confidence in a child, it is necessary that the teacher is polite and treats his student as a friend, diligently explaining the difference between right and wrong acts. For instance, my niece, an average student in academics is 10 years old and hates to go to school as his Science teacher yells at her for not doing her homework on time. The poor girl feels insulted in front of her classmates and has now developed a hatred towards this teacher and the subject as well. Her Math teacher whom she considers her good friend, always makes her understand the relevance of doing her work with punctuality in a friendly manner. This has actually helped her to be regular in her Mathematics studies. On the other hand, being too friendly with the young makes the mentor lose her own respect and her words are not taken seriously by her learners. They tend to take her for granted and eventually call her often during non-school hours. This has made her life overstressed. In conclusion, being too harsh or soft on kids these days does not serve the purpose of education. Thus, as stated, the combination of both is desirable for best results.