It is observed that, currently more and more people are working longer hours. What are the causes of this phenomenon? What effects does this have on the society?.

In this age and time, the majority of humans are working more hours than the required time, either in self-employment or in public employment. This developing trend is impacted by a variety of causes which eventually affect people. Firstly, the pressure to meet an organization’s objectives and heightened expectations cause too much pressure in order to beat some unrealistic task deadlines. Therefore, employees end up working overtime to achieve the targets. Moreover, in such a tough economic era, people are forced to spend more time working so as to earn more and pay endless bills. For example, personally, as a nurse, I do many shifts per month because the more days I work, the more salary I make. Undeniably, such a working culture poses a myriad of positive and negative effects on individuals and society at large. While job satisfaction and earning lucratively count to be a benefit, the drawbacks of prolonged working overshadow the upsides. To begin with, the staff’s health is jeopardized. For example, eye and back problems are attributable to prolonged computer light exposure and assuming bad posture respectively. Lastly, lack of enough sleep leads to fatigue, exhaustion and brain fogginess hence less productivity at work. For instance, a recent survey conducted in a local cotton factory revealed that the rate of production dropped by 5% because employees dozed off at work. To conclude, extending the working time is influenced by a number of factors and this trend is not only beneficial but also disadvantageous.