These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of people who travel around the world has increased because of easier access to transportation compared to the past. Even though there are a few negative aspects of having more tourists, I generally believe that there are more upsides to this trend. There has been a problem in Japan called “over-tourism,” which means a situation where a nation has a massive number of tourists from overseas, leading to some serious issues for local residents living around famous sites. One of the issues is that the local people have begun suffering from noise pollution and the disrespectful behavior of some tourists. According to BBC News, it is said that Japanese residents have been struggling with dealing with foreigners exhibiting excessive behavior, resulting in moving out from their residences for the sake of well-being to new places where few tourists can be seen. On the other hand, having a lot of tourists can bring economic benefits to the local citizens, and at the same time, provide them with an opportunity to convey their own culture. The more visitors a nation accepts, the more money the travellers bring to the destination, thus leading the country to revitalize its economy and allowing for the distribution of the revenue to the residents. Moreover, it might give them an opportunity to share their culture including their foods, their histories, and their lifestyles. As a result, it can be projected that an increasing number of people from different countries will be attracted by their culture, which will be beneficial to the country in terms of the financial aspects and the expansion of culture. In conclusion, I think that there are more upsides than downsides to an increase in the number of travelers for countries with more tourism, in terms of the benefits ranging from income for economic growth to the promotion of their own cultures.