Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s interconnected world, having another foreign language definitely improves our competitiveness in both social and professional spheres. Some educators advocate that it is more effective to learn a foreign language at primary schools than at secondary schools. This essay will discuss both the benefits and the drawbacks. Learning a new foreign language at a young age has two primary advantages. Children will increase their language acquisition. Research shows that early childhoods are more receptive to learning new languages, improving their communication with foreigners. For example, primary school pupils tend to develop near-native pronunciation and adapt quickly to learn such new skills, which are extremely useful in their future lives. Besides, this acquisition of the new language helps to improve long-term cognition. It is not surprising to find that bilingual children are better equipped with problem-solving and multitasking skills than single- language ones. Learning another second language can foster a deeper cultural understanding and an appreciation for diversity. Despite these merits, there are some disadvantages. Incorporating a second language into the school curriculum may overburden pupils, as they already have a lot of subjects to study. Another concern is this additional language may detract their attention from essential subjects such as mathematics, science and the like. If students do not fully grasp the importance of learning another language, they may lack motivation. Additionally, schools with limited resources that may struggle to offer quality language education may lead to students’ inequality. The government should subsidise such schools to make the accessibility of alternative languages more effective and help them to incorporate well-designed programmes into the syllabus. In conclusion, while it poses some challenges for introducing a new foreign language, I firmly believe the advantages of studying a foreign language at primary school far outweigh the disadvantages. If the government provides assistance on the new language initiative, the mentioned issues could be solved.