Some people think it is better for children to being to learn a foreign language at primary school than at secondary school. What’s your opinion? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some people that children should learn about other foreign landuage when they are in primary schools while others believe that it is better to wait until they go to secondary school. In this essay, both viewpoints will be outlined before reaching my opinion. On the one hand, learning a foreign language late also gives some benefits to learners. Firstly, it is undeniable that adolescents have their goals already. For example, many secondary students decide to apply to a university that needs language proficiency. Therefore, they willing to learn and study foreign languages more than the younger ones. Secondly, students in secondary school have fewer limitation and have more freedom than children such as computer playtime to search for information. Thus, adolescents can be able to study and learn all day without restrictions. On the other hand, it is true that children need to learn other languages when they are in primary school. At first, they are fast learners and have open-mind to absorb new things more than the youngsters. Teachers can use some attractive resources, for example, English animations or cartoons to teach them instead of teaching them by books. In addition, kids around these ages do not mock each other when they use words or sentences wrong as well as they are not afraid of making mistakes. They always sincerely correct their friends and encourage them to speak again. All in all, although several people believe that other languages should be taught in secondary schools. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this idea as a result it is better to let the new generations get familiar with foreign languages when they are still young. Otherwise, children need to struggle to learn them later and need to put a lot more effort to it.