In many countries, there is a shortage of qualified teachers, especially in rural areas. What are the causes of this problem, and what can be done to solve it?

In various countries around the world, the lack of highly educated teachers is observed, specially in the countryside. The issue is caused by the low level of income in rural areas and it can be solved by implementing various governmental programs. To start, rural areas usually face a deficiency in different aspects of daily life, starting with education and jobs and ending with entertainment. Young specialist are usually looking for better job prospects, which makes them leave their home cities. Clearly, they are offered more salaries and career opportunities in big cities, especially in comparison with smaller towns. For instance, statistics provided by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Azerbaijan shows that in 2023, approximately 54% of teachers in non-urban areas submitted a request for assignment to continue their duties in urban regions, being unsatisfied with their income level. However, this problem can be tackled if governments use the resources that they own in a more productive way. Particularly, offering specialists in provincial regions fair and competitive salaries will prevent an influx to big cities and shortfalls in smaller areas. At the same time, it will affect local economies positively and promote all-round development in countries. For example, in Norway, in 2021, the State Agency of Education proposed attractive salaries to teachers who will serve in villages; as a result, the number of teachers in these areas increased by 49% in 3 years. To conclude, although there is a scarcity of educational staff in outlying areas due to low wages and career growth, the essay thinks that the obstacle may be addressed if governments apply proper policies regarding these questions.