Some people think that young people should choose their professions themselves. Others believe that their parents should choose for them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that choosing a profession is one of the most important steps in our lives. While it is a commonly held belief that profession choosing should be done by the parents of the younger generation, there is also an argument that they should have the free will to choose. To begin with, some individuals believe that the decision to choose a profession should be made by the younger generation because they know their preferences and what they are able to do. In other words, most youth are aware of their strengths and weaknesses. In addition, forcing them to work on something they are not passionate about may affect their personality negatively and lower their self-esteem. For example, if a person is passionate about business and has creative thoughts, but his parents want him to become and doctor or any other related profession, this will contribute to many psychological problems and may affect the relationship between them badly. On the other hand, many people say that the professional choice decision must be taken by the parents without consulting their sons or daughters. It is possible to say that this belief comes from a place where some young people are not aware of themselves and their parents know them better. Moreover, raising a child without giving him the space to experience life and the right to choose can lead to lower self-awareness, and also having no personal goals. For example, I know a person who lived all his life under his parent’s authority, he did not have the liberty to make his own decisions even his major in the university, which made him experience depression and lower personal growth. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I tend to believe that people must have the free will to decide their lifeline.