The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

The major amount of news being broadcasted or printed is about negative events such as conflicts, criminal activities and natural disasters. This news has more potential to attract more number viewers and readers. In my opinion, a balance should be maintained between positive and negative news, as it leads to the population forming a clear perception. A large number of news channels and newspapers prefer to publish unfortunate events because they tend to capture public attention more effectively. This happens due to the evolutionary survival instincts, people focus more on the threats as well as dangerous situations instead of the positive trends. Most of the news sources earn revenue from their viewerships motivating them to broadcast such bad events. For example, a large proportion of the population tends to remember the twin-tower tragedy, while very few recall the date of the first moon landing. In my view, an adequate balance between both good and bad news should be maintained. An imbalanced focus can result in the public forming a distorted opinion about society. Additionally, positive news can inspire optimism among the population, which may lead to nthedevelopment and betterment of society. As a result, this helps the the public form a clear and balanced perception of the world. For example, many countries in UAE have the news regulated by the government, this helps them to keep a good balance and foster positivity among the individuals. In conclusion, news reporting companies tend to show more negative news as it attracts more viewership, helping them generate better revenue. Whereas, according to my opinion, there should be an equal amount of positive and negative reporting for the public to have a clear understanding.