In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having an ageing population?

A life span of people has changed a lot in many countries. While some people consider that an increasing number of retired people may cause problems for the government, others believe that it is a positive modification for the community. This essay states that having more ageing population helps a country increase its reputation, but the budget of the government can be declined because of this change. On the one hand, a huge number of elderly people living in a country is an indicator of high life quality and proper conditions. That is, it helps the country be considered as a successful place for staying and resting with right environment. The ranking in Estonia serves as a great example of appropriate circumstances as it is in the top 10 countries with the highest longevity, maintaining its reputation. On the other hand, because of the rising number of elderly people, the finance of the country is the main concern for everyone. In other words, each retired citizen gets a monthly payment from the budget of the government. Hence, if more people live for a long period of time, the government will lose more money compared to previous years. For instance, if there had been 100000 retired people in Azerbaijan in 2020, this number would have skyrocketed by 5000, causing to spend more money on aged individuals. To conclude, while it is important for the country to maintain its reputation, the increase in total expenditure of it can cause in lowering the amount of money that belongs to the government.