In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Over the last few years, individuals in some areas who believed that it is better to travel or start a career before enrolling in a university by a year. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss some benefits and harmfuls of this notion. I will start with the disadvantages, spending a year in work or travel will make students graduate later than their colleagues who start university studies directly after school. Which makes them late in their specialized career life. From my perspective, I think it is not a big issue but some people feel frustrated by this. Additionally, if they try working, work may like them and make them gain good money, they would delay their studies to an unknown time which makes them lack qualifications. On the other side, there are many advantages to this idea. First, work and travelling are the major facilities that make us able to expand our minds and understanding. As a result, university studies would be easier thanks to this experience. For instance, a university survey showed that the students who worked before studying are more skilled than others. Undoubtedly, they acquired several skills from work. Besides, some young humans prefer this idea motivated by a desire to make money to use it over their university years. Also, others pursue their job while studying. In conclusion, there are two cons that are caused by taking a gap year. Being late for graduation and deciding to leave studying for more years. Likewise, there are two benefits, expanding the mind and making money. Each one should make their decision regarding their own circumstance.