In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no denying the fact that raising children in a proper manner in order to make them grow with great values is a goal and essential for most families. While it is a commonly held belief that we should tell our kids that if they work hard they can achieve anything, there is also an argument that opposes this idea. This essay will analyze this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, telling kids of their ability to get what they plan for with consistent work could give them the passion and energy to gain what they need. In other words, digging the idea of ‘ work hard and you will achieve what you want’ can actually push them to achieve what they want. In addition, this idea may result, in some cases, in curing some types of illnesses. For example, cancer patients are likely to get treated with continuous encouragement from their doctors that they need to fight they are strong and they can fight their illness. On the other hand, telling children that they can do anything all the time may make them unrealistic. It is also possible to say that we should tell them they need to have solid plans to acquire their ambitions. Moreover, believing that they can achieve anything would lead them to be shocked and lose faith in themselves when finding out about the reality. For instance, a first-grade kid cannot be told that after a year he will be able to take the SAT because any effort he will make with his lack of knowledge would not help him pass the test. Therefore, telling the one-grade kid of his incapability of achieving impossible goals would support him in making him more rational and developing his planning skills. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that scaling between encouragement and making children conscious about the limits of the effort would make them good enough to start their creative lives.