Some people believe that social media platforms should be strictly regulated by governments to prevent the spread of misinformation To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the government should control social media websites and apps to stop people from giving false information. I agree with this opinion because of two reasons. Firstly, hoax news or social media can have a detrimental effect. Currently, there are various types of news that people share with the intention of misinforming other people. This can happen because it is very easy to upload things on the internet, as there is no clear control or filter in place. For example, in my hometown, some people spread news on Facebook about a group of bandits currently terrorizing people. This hoax was intended to be just a prank on social media, but in the long run this news spread fear and made people afraid to do their activities. Moreover, the government has the responsibility and authority to control the circulation of information. This means that they have to make sure that their citizens are well-informed with accurate information. It is the citizens’ right to be free of hoaxes and false information. In addition, the government has the power to exercise control over social media platforms. To illustrate, they can issue a regulation making social media platforms create better filters to prevent people from easily uploading hoax news. This will at least minimize the amount the spread of misinformation. In conclusion, I think that social media platforms should be regulated by the government to decrease the risk of misinformation. This type of information can lead to negative things, and the government is the only one that can stop this problem from becoming worse.