Some people believe that old people should take part in sport to stay healthy. Others think there are better ways for old people to stay healthy. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern era, old people take part in sports to stay healthy, on the other hand, there are other solutions. In this essay, I will discuss which opinion is better than the other and which is my personal view. Firstly, scholars used to say to do sports at every time of their life, so also older people could do when they are retired. The benefits of doing exercise after a life of work is well known to the scientific community, for example, in Italy there are always more football clubs for people that are retired from work and the injuries are not so many as the professional, because the rhythm of play is not so high. Not only team sports, but also individual sports have an increase of older people. If one looks at the participants of the last Sydney Marathon, you could see that over 40 per cent are more than 60 years old. Therefore, practising some sport after 60 years old is very popular all over the world. However, some people believe that there are better ways to stay healthy, for instance, eating healthy or studying. After a life at work, the possibility of eating junk food is quite possible. People have more time to spend on lunch and dinner and precisely in that time, they want to eat healthily. Studying is another exercise for old people that could be effective. It is called the exercise of the brain, so instead of doing outside sports, they can work for themselves. Then, after years, the brain continues to collapse and only by reading books and understanding them can be useful for society. In my opinion, sport is a fundamental exercise that all people have to practice and old people have more need to do so. In conclusion, to remain healthy there are many options, nevertheless, they need to do something and not stay quiet in their retirement.