Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that modern technology aims to monitor what people are saying and doing. This essay claims that the main advantage is the national security this monitoring can provide and the disadvantage is about privacy concerns and the limitation of the freedom of expression. It is conspicuous that the fact of implementing cameras and controlling citizens is beneficial for our national security. Indeed, for many years, many countries have been threatened by terrorists. Terrorism is likely to destroy our community as well as our civilization.For that reason, fighting against this phenomenon remains consequential.In this regard, any kind of help aiming to battle those criminals should be welcomed. For instance, thanks to smartphones and cameras, many terrorists were arrested before they could hurt anyone in Morocco, in 2015,when the country was threatened by a terrorist group. However, this overuse of cellphone tracking and security cameras also features noticeable inconveniences such as privacy issues. This is because our data isn't completely safe on the internet and many scammers have access to our private pieces of information.Those lawbreakers are renowned for their ability to use personal pics and videos to blackmail innocent victims and therefore, get money from them. Furthermore, in numerous dictatorial countries, smartphones are used to target opponents and send them to jail. Hence, it is considered as a real limitation of the individual freedom. A prime example would be The North Korean government which uses smartphones to control its own citizens. In conclusion, ensuring national security is the prime benefit of this modern breakthrough although many advantages exist such as unlawful access to private pieces of information and overwhelming restrictions on freedom in lots of nations.