In many countries in the world people buy clothes and choose hair styles according to latest fashion. Why is this happening ? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Globally, many people purchase clothes and pick hairstyles according to the current fashion trend. In my opinion, it is a negative development because keeping up with the latest fashion trends leads to financial instability and a loss of personal authenticity. Buying clothes and choosing hairstyles according to the newest fashion trends is a negative development because it leads to financial strain. Most of the latest fashion items are expensive and an individual who is extremely fashion -conscious spends excessively on them. Furthermore, it gets tiring when one tries to keep up with the latest concepts because we live in a world where change is inevitable and new trends are introduced yearly. For example, in Ghana, there has been a noticeable rise of irresponsible financial spending habits amongst teenagers and youths. In addition, another reason why this has a bad influence on a person is because it causes a diminished sense of identity. Moreover, a person who is constantly trying to fit into society by regularly purchasing the latest outfits and making the newest hairstyles loses his or her self-confidence because he or she is trying to keep up with the latest fashion trends which becomes mentally overwhelming. For instance, according to reports, in Nigeria, there is a steady rise in mental health cases especially amongst youths because they constantly compare themselves to celebrities and influencers. In conclusion, spending excessively on the latest fashion trends is a negative development because it causes financial hardship and low self-esteem.